Marisela Gomez

Persona: Marisela GomezMarisela Gomez, a 43-year-old homemaker, came to the Midwest sixteen years ago with her husband and two small children. She is Spanish-monolingual, though her children are English-Spanish bilingual. She prides herself on caring for her family and providing support for their needs. Her siblings live in the United States; her parents, aunts and uncles, and various cousins live in Mexico.


  • Age: 43
  • Nationality: Immigrated to the Midwest with her husband, has lived in Kansas City for sixteen years
  • Occupation: Homemaker
  • Marital status: Married with two children, both of whom work locally doing manual labor like their father, and are living at home.
  • Location: Kansas City
  • Technology profile: Cautious adopter. She likes using the device and platforms/apps she knows.
“I like to use social media to make a good home for my family here and keep in touch with my family back home in Mexico.”

Devices Marisela has

Smartphone: Marisela uses her phone for calling and the Internet. It’s the only device she uses, though her kids have tablets and smartphones and a Chromecast device they use to stream Netflix videos to the television.



Marisela has unlimited internet service on her cell phone, and high speed Google Fiber (Kansas City is a Google Fiber city) at home for the family’s technology.

Social media platforms and web resources consulted

Frustration with technology

I find it difficult to understand what Google Translate is telling me when I'm trying to make sense of things that have been written in English.


Information needs and background

Marisela takes pride in the home she provides for her family, and is happy that she can support her children and her husband. She takes care to make them good quality home cooking, using healthy ingredients, and make sure they have clean clothes and a clean house. She is a devout Catholic, and she’s been active in the local church for a long time, including serving at the Spanish-language mass and community events for the immigrants in the area. At church, she also works to provide support for her neighbors, for instance, helping to decorate the church for weddings or baking traditional foods for funerals. She met most of her local friends through church, and she makes an attempt to attend any Spanish-language events there.

Information Sources and Library Use

To get her information, Marisela:

Goals for using the library